Italian Greyhounds R Us!

Day 1. Oh I do love to be beside the seaside. It’s hot, but we’re just a skip and a jump from the almost empty beach. I nearly put Nige into a coma after a session of making cocktails, Italian Greyhounds, to be exact. A Greyhound (cocktail) is vodka and grapefruit juice, but I recently had the very lovely Italian variety at Figo’s and they swapped vodka for gin AND added Aperol. I googled it. “3 parts gin, 2 parts Aperol, 4 parts grapefruit juice.” Sounds a bit wrong and how much is a part? I thought a measure may be 50ml, but in the motorhome I can only guesstimate… so we sat outside in the sun enjoying our drinks and then I noticed Nige started sweating and slurring his words, haha. Right, I have worked out where I went wrong (much, much too much alcohol) and I will practice my mixology again tomorrow. I hear Hugo is doing well and managed to get himself fed a lot more than usual. He could star in the cats version of, Oliver. I do hope he behaves (unlikely) and puts the espionage and assassinations aside until I return.

Dinner on the beach at Ryde.

Nige informs me (I care little for politics) that during his final PMQ’s, Boris Johnson rounded up with, “hasta la vista baby.” Haha. Typical Boris and I can’t help but like him. He was good at the huge stuff, but a bit too gung ho with everything else, making one stupid mistake after another (although it did feel like he was being hunted like a witch in the end). Boris pulled us out of the EU and our country led the way with Covid vaccines, good. I think Boris managed well and introduced lots of things to pull us through a worldwide crisis. I know not everyone shares my beliefs, but that didn’t stop many benefiting from the furlough scheme and getting financial assistance, regardless of the huge impact that had on our economy.

Finny can’t wait for his brother to arrive in a few weeks!

Leave a comment